>  Blog >  News and Trends > bundelkhand expressway route map
Ankita Saxena | 28 Nov 2023

Bundelkhand Expressway: Latest Updates, Toll Rates, Route Map, Features & Much More

Bundelkhand Expressway: Latest Updates, Toll Rates, Route Map, Features & Much More

Table of Contents:

  1. Latest Bundelkhand Expressway Update
  2. Bundelkhand Expressway Overview
  3. Bundelkhand Expressway Route
  4. Bundelkhand Expressway Route Map
  5. Salient Features of Bundelkhand Expressway
  6. Benefits From Bundelkhand Expressway

Latest Bundelkhand Expressway Update

  • The Bundelkhand Expressway in India’s largest state, Uttar Pradesh, will be the first solar expressway in Uttar Pradesh. The 296-km long Bundelkhand expressway route will have solar panels installed on both sides.

  • The Bundelkhand Expressway toll plaza will now collect the toll from vehicles using the 296 km long Bundelkhand Expressway. The toll tax rates vary from vehicle to vehicle. Light vehicles like vans, cars, or jeeps have to pay a toll tax of Rs 620. For light commercial vehicles, minibusses, and light goods vehicles, the toll tax rate is fixed at Rs 990. Vehicles with seven wheels or more have to pay a toll of Rs. 3895. For buses and trucks, the toll tax rate is Rs 1995, whereas it is Rs 3040 for heavy construction machines (HCM), EME, or MAAV.

Bundelkhand Expressway Overview

Prime Minister Narendra Modi inaugurated the 296-km-long Bundelkhand Expressway in July 2022. The occasion was graced by the presence of the Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister, Yogi Adityanath. The foundation stone of the expressway was laid down in 2020 in the Chitrakoot district of the Bundelkhand region of Uttar Pradesh. Bundelkhand Expressway starts near Bharatkoop at NH-35 in Chitrakoot district and ends near village Kudrail in Etawah district on the Agra-Lucknow expressway.

Built by Uttar Pradesh Expressways Industrial Development Authority (UPEIDA), the Bundelkhand expressway route has 4 lanes right now, but there are plans to make it a 6 lane expressway. To know everything about the Bundelkhand Express Highway, continue reading this informative blog.

You May Also Like: Ganga Expressway: Route, Map, Toll Rates

Bundelkhand Expressway Route

The game-changer Bundelkhand expressway route covers seven districts, which are Chitrakoot, Banda, Mahoba, Jalaun, Aurraiya, Hamirpur, and Etawah. Moreover, the Bundelkhand Expressway Route crosses 8 rivers, namely Bagen, Birma, Ken, Shyama, Chandawal, Betwa, Yamuna, and Sengar.

Also Read: Varanasi Kolkata Expressway: Route, Connecting Cities, Cost & Current Status

Bundelkhand Expressway Route Map

Bundelkhand expressway

Source: Upeida

As per the Bundelkhand Expressway Route Map, the operational Bundelkhand highway merges with the Agra-Lucknow expressway in Etawah district. It connects further to the Yamuna Expressway and Delhi Meerut Expressway. The Bundelkhand expressway route village list contains 182 villages.

Refer to the below Bundelkhand expressway map for a pictorial understanding of the route.

Interesting Read: Delhi Meerut Metro RRTS

Salient Features of Bundelkhand Expressway

The Greenfield Bundelkhand Expressway is known for the following salient features:

  • Bundelkhand Expressway is the fastest-built expressway in Uttar Pradesh. It was constructed in a record 28 months. 

  • The Bundelkhand express highway was constructed at a 12.7% lesser cost than planned, as it was built at an estimated cost of Rs 14,849.09 crore. 

  • The Bundelkhand Expressway reduces the travel time from Delhi to Chitrakoot from 14 to 8 hours. 

  • The operational Bundelkhand Expressway route has 18 flyovers, 4 Railway over-bridges, 6 toll plazas, and 14 large and 266 minor bridges. 

  • The tourism sector will experience a boost as many tourist destinations like Chitrakoot lie on the Bundelkhand expressway route. 

Benefits From Bundelkhand Expressway

In addition to providing seamless connectivity, the Bundelkhand Express highway, also known as Atal Path, aims to provide the following benefits:

  • Development of the underdeveloped region as the 4-lane Bundelkhand express highway links backward districts with Delhi NCR through the Agra-Lucknow Expressway and Yamuna Expressway.

  • The agriculture, commerce, tourism, and industrial sectors will experience the development.

  • Around 500 jobs will be created with the region's economic development due to this expressway. 

  • Religious tourism will experience a boom as Chitrakoot, where Lord Rama spent more than 10 years, is the major part of this project.

  • The real estate sector in the region will experience a boom post the Bundelkhand Expressway inauguration. Areas like Hamirpur, Agra, and Etawah will experience an increase in property rates.

You May Also Read: Longest Expressway In India


Uttar Pradesh, the most populated state in India, currently has 6 operational expressways, including the Bundelkhand expressway, with a total length of 1,225 km. Bundelkhand Expressway will change the socio-economic landscape of the region by creating economic opportunities for the region. 


Need Help?