>  Blog >  Legal > ews certificate
Simar Nagi | 23 Mar 2023

EWS Certificate 2023: Meaning, Benefits & How to Apply

EWS Certificate 2023: Meaning, Benefits & How to Apply

Table of Content:

  1. EWS Certificate: Meaning
  2. Economically Weaker Section Certificate: Objective
  3. EWS Certificate Benefits
  4. EWS Certificate Eligibility
  5. EWS Certificate Documents
  6. Procedure To Apply for an EWS Certificate Online
  7. Procedure to Apply for an EWS Certificate Offline

Under the initiative by the Central Govt of India, EWS certificate is an income and asset certificate that allows access to safe and affordable housing to the citizens belonging to the economically weaker section and also helps by offering them education, financial assistance and employment. Citizens from lower-income groups who wish to seek benefits will initially have to apply for the EWS certificate. Once the certificate is issued, citizens can take advantage of the benefits of the reservation. 

Learn more about how to apply for an EWS certificate online and what benefits you can reap from it.  

EWS Certificate: Meaning

The EWS certificate's full form is "Economically Weaker Section". 

The President of India gave his assent to the Constitution (103 Amendment) Act in 2019. The amendments under Article 15 & 16 allows states to make special provisions for the advancement of any economically weaker sections of citizens.

The economically backward section in the general category can receive a 10% reservation in jobs, education, and administration with the help of an economically weaker section certificate. The only condition is to have a valid certificate provided by the authorities to take advantage of this 10% EWS reservation. 

The EWS certificate validity is for a lifetime, but it has to be renewed at regular intervals. 

NAMEEWS Certificate
INITIATED BYThe Central Government of India
CATEGORYEconomically Weaker Sections (EWS)
AIM10% Reservation
VALIDITYFor Lifetime But Needs To be Updated Annually

Economically Weaker Section Certificate: Objective

The objective of EWS is to offer equal opportunities to the economically weaker section. A massive number of people falling under the general category are not economically stable. Citizens of such groups can take advantage of a 10% reservation benefit if they possess an EWS Certificate. 

The candidate can only be accepted for an EWS reservation if he/she has a certificate attesting to the legitimacy of the income and property. With the help of this certificate, the candidate can also be accepted for several other government programs in addition to employment and education.

Also Read: Step By Step Process To Download Your EWS Certificate Bihar

EWS Certificate Benefits

Below you will find the advantages of having an Economically Weaker Section Certificate. 

  • They can inquire about the rights related to government initiatives and programs.

  • Reservation offers financial assistance. If a candidate requires such help, it will be provided if they have the certificate. 

  • Since central institutions fall under the UGCs' jurisdiction, they will have to follow the EWS certificate and provide seats to students belonging to the EWS certificate. 

  • The applicant can be qualified for a specific amount of financial assistance via the program that the central and state governments provide to improve the citizens' lives.

NOTE: Other categories are exempted from using these facilities. 

EWS Certificate Eligibility

  • People who do not belong to Scheduled Caste, Schedule Tribes or Other Backward Classes, but whose gross household income is below Rs 8 lakh annually are eligible for EWS reservation. 

  • People belonging to the general category can only apply for an EWS certificate online. 

  • People should not have agricultural land spread over more than 5 acres of area. 

  • The residential plot should be less than 100 sq yards. 

EWS Certificate Documents

Below is the list of documents that are required for an EWS certificate.

  • Aadhar Card

  • Voter ID Card

  • The educational mark sheet and higher certificates

  • Certificates issued by two Gazetted officers. 

  • Passport-size Size Photograph

  • Residential certificate

  • Income tax return payment 

  • Application form duly filled out with a stamp fee of Rs2/-.

  • A non-judicial declaration document fee of Rs 10/- (if the government orders).

Procedure To Apply for an EWS Certificate Online

Every state has its own website to apply for an EWS Certificate online. 

To give you an idea, let's presume that you’re looking to apply for an EWS Certificate in Andhra Pradesh: 

Step 1: Go to the website @ https://pmmodiyojana.in/ap-meeseva/ 

Step 2: Select the "Revenue Department" option on the home page. 

Step 3: A new window will appear where you will see the services the Revenue Department offers. Select "Income Certificate" from the drop-down menu. 

Step 4: An application form will appear, where they will ask for information like your full name, your parents' names, your gender, your age, your DOB, etc. 

Step 5: After completing the required details and uploading the required documents, click "Show Payment."

Step 6: Make the payment and choose "Confirm Payment" in order to complete the payment confirmation process. 

In this way, your EWS Certificate Online process will be complete, and you will be able to check the status of your application online for approval. 

Procedure to Apply for an EWS Certificate Offline

Step 1: Visit your state's revenue department or issuing authority office. 

Step 2: Take the application in person. 

Step 3: Fill in the required details for the EWS certificate and pay for the application receipt. 

Suggested Read: EWS Certificate Online and its Validity in Uttar Pradesh


Need Help?